Art Journal 1.3

Art Journal 1.3

Art Journal 1.3

The background started out with Speedball Super Black (true to name) india ink drips. As I became impatient for them to dry, I blotted at the page, accidentally, and to my displeasure, leaving the pattern of the paper towel. The watercolor came after, and when I was left with a 70s vibe (mildly influenced by my SNL Season 1 John Belushi/Chevy Chase obsession) Woody seemed an appropriate addition to the page and my mood. The page needs no caption– his face says it all!

I’m growing increasingly more aware of the role that serendipity has in my art making and of the importance of embracing the unexpected. Half of the challenge–and the fun–of creating is steering the curveballs the process throws you to land in your favor.

Leave a Reply

