What’s in my travel kit?

I’m obsessed with travel kits, partly because I’m always looking for new ways to make my own travel kit more useful, but also because organizing things, my art supplies especially, is one of the neuroses that I most often indulge. 

I’ve revised the contents of my travel pouch this week and now feel like I have a good variety of materials that provide me a balance between essential items and fun extras. 

So, without further ado, the contents of my travel kit (and maybe a bit of reviewing):

Image

Image

Tools:

Image

  • Tiny scissors– I think they’re thread-cutting scissors from a sewing kit, but I found them in the metal bin at the dump! Got to love free sustainability!
  • Sakura Koi waterbrush, large #8– This is the one with the long barrel. It holds 9mL, which is 5mL more storage for the same price on http://www.sakuraofamerica.com/ 
  • Avery Permanent Glue Stic .26oz
  • Tiny pot of water– in case I need extra
  • Mini craft knife
  • One-hole pencil sharpener
  • Tsukineko mini squeegee– I got a pack of 5 of these for 99 cents on clearance and they really don’t do any more than an old credit card would, but they’re small and fit well in the kit. They have the dual purpose of scraping down collage elements to get rid of air bubbles and adding texture in wet paint. 
  • Staedtler Mars Plastic eraser
  • A few tissues/paper towels

Paint:

Image

  • I have two watercolor kits; the little one is about 2 inches long by an inch wide (it has an equally adorable little brush under the pans) and the other is my homemade Altoid kit. I rotate between the two depending on how much space I need in my pouch for other things or what I’m into at the moment.
  • 2 Faber-Castell Gelatos in Licorice and Coconut
  • 1 Caran d’Ache Neocolor II in Indigo Blue– Dick Blick sent me an Indigo instead of an Indanthrone Blue and it’s a pretty color so I thought I’d throw it in there.

Pens:

Image

  • 4 Fine Point Sharpie Markers– Gold, Silver, Bronze, Black
  • 1 Black Ultra Fine Point Sharpie
  • 1 Burgundy Le Pen
  • 1 Black Fine Faber-Castell Pitt pen

Drawing Pencils:

Image

  • Papermate #2 Sharpwriter
  • 8B Prismacolor Turquoise Graphite pencil
  • Black Stabilo All– These are watersoluble, they write on everything, especially magazine images. 
  • White Stabilo All
  • General’s White Charcoal
  • 3B Pierre Noire Conté
  • Derwent Sketching 8B Dark Wash watersoluble graphite
  • I also sometimes have my tin of 6 Conté sketching crayons with me if I’m feeling sketchy. 

Colored Pencils:

Image

Image

  • Derwent Graphitint in Russet, Meadow, Ocean Blue, Slate Green, Port, Juniper, Shadow, Dark Indigo
  • Prismacolor Premier Colored Pencils in Black, White, Non-Photo Blue, True Blue, Sunburst Yellow, Yellowed Orange, Process Red, Violet, Colorless Blender, Lemon Yellow, Grass Green, Chartreuse, Mulberry, Imperial Violet, French Grey 50%, Metallic Silver, Metallic Gold, Crimson Red, Poppy Red (18 colors and the blender)

Quick tip! The Prismacolors in my travel kit are too short to keep in my regular set (I like ’em tall), so to save space, I glued two end-to-end. Double your colors! I have a stash of these on hand so if I get bored with my color selection or I need more colors for a specific project, I can just swap them out.

Image

  • Prismacolor Bicolor Verithin in Violet Blue and Crimson Red– 50 cents for 5 at Big Al’s (this is a Maine thing) and I figured it’d be good for sketching instead of graphite.

 

Case: 

  • My case is homemade; my mom made it for me for christmas two years ago out of some funky batik fabric. It’s the perfect size! About 9” x 5”.

Image

So! I hope this inspires you to think about your own travel kit needs and that you’ll consider mobile art as a part of your art regimen. For further inspiration, here are a few of my favorite travel kits:

Leave a Reply

