Art Journal 5.1

img001

Art Journal 5.1. To be fair, I’m not entirely sure what volume of art journal I’m on––probably 6 or 7 at this point, but since I left off at 4, I’ll start new at 5. As I work on a new posting schedule, this “cataloging” system will change, but anyway…

Those funky dots were created by dropping denatured alcohol onto a thin layer of wet acrylic paint on a lightly gessoed surface. I used Golden fluid acrylic in I think phthalo green (blue shade). The alcohol will push away/resist the acrylic and leave you with a halo effect. You can see a similar technique here.

The mottled purple at the top of the page is watercolor bleedthrough from the other side. Sometimes, using cheap paper in my journals comes back to bite me and alters a page I was otherwise happy with. Sometimes, I get unexpected added details that I otherwise could not have created.

Leave a Reply

